January 20, 2016 - 6:30pm

Broadcast live from Stanford Law School

6:30PM - 8:00PM PST
7:30PM - 9:00PM MST
8:30PM - 10:00PM CST
9:30PM - 11:00PM EST

The Geneva Conventions regulate the rules of war and establish that medical facilities must be protected during armed conflicts. But in recent months, there have been numerous attacks on medical facilities operated by Doctors Without Borders/Médecins Sans Frontières (MSF) in Afghanistan, Syria, and Yemen. 

These attacks amount to a dangerous new trend, and possibly reflect a shift in respect for, and adherence to, international humanitarian law. The consequences of this trend can be severe, as whole populations are denied access to life-saving medical care.

Join MSF leadership and an outside international humanitarian law expert for a special panel discussion at Stanford Law School about international humanitarian law and attacks on medical facilities around the world.

Viewer participation is encouraged via a chat feature available during the webcast.

Panelists:

Jason Cone, executive director of MSF-USA, will discuss how shrinking humanitarian space has caused new challenges in areas of conflict where MSF has worked for decades.

Jane Coyne, MSF-USA board member and manager of MSF projects in Sudan, Democratic Republic of Congo, Central African Republic, will share the perspective from MSF programs.

Claudia Josi, lawyer and professor at Santa Clara University, will provide comments based on her experience in international human rights law, humanitarian law, and transitional justice issues.

Moderated by Mirte Postema, Fellow for Human Rights, Criminal Justice and Prison Reform in the Americas, Stanford Human Rights Center.

Co-sponsored by Stanford Medicine Center for Innovation in Global Health, and Levin Center for Public Service and Public Interest Law, International Law Society, Stanford International Human Rights Law Association, and National Lawyers Guild.

This webcast will be recorded for viewing at a later time. Please register for the webcast to receive a link to the recording.